SGA Holds its First Senate Session

Last night, The College’s Student Government Association held its first Senate session for the fall semester. The docket for the meeting included reports from the Executive Council, swearing in of new Senators, and committee reports. Following the official meeting was a retreat for Senators to go over parliamentary procedure and be placed into committees.

SGA was founded at The College in 1922, and consists of an Executive Branch and Legislative Branch. Within the Executive Branch is a Council that consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, and Deputy Chief of Staff. Along with the Executive Branch of SGA is the Legislative Branch, which consists of 36 Senators. Each Senator serves on a legislative committee as well as individually pursuing initiatives.

The current administration, including President Alexandra Helfgott and Vice President Tripp Keeffe, hopes to utilize the upcoming months to create real change within The College. Initiatives that the current administration is pursuing include standardizing the Add/Drop period, getting more bikes racks for the school and creating a CARTA route to grocery stores.


SGA Senate Sessions are held every Tuesday at 4:30 p.m. in the Stern Center Ballroom, 4th floor Stern Center. Meetings are open to all students.

7134 Total Views 3 Views Today

'SGA Holds its First Senate Session' has no comments

Be the first to comment this post!

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

Images are for demo purposes only and are properties of their respective owners. Old Paper by